RSS Feed

Tired

chinese idioms

Wow! Today I did a lot and hopefully I’ll have a Chinese dream. I only had a Chinese dream once…it was funny because while dreaming I thought of the correct grammar. The words I used were very easy, and the Chinese talked like me too 🙂 It was funny but sadly only once. Today I wrote a lot of Chinese characters, watched the “blind date” drama again (I really hate the voice of the main girl, it seems to be dubbed to sound extremely “ladylike”, which is very annoying), listened to Chinese radio stations, learned vocabulary and idioms. I love Chinese idioms. The words which are used are quite easy to understand (mostly ;-), but the real meaning surpasses the words and tells so much about the Chinese mind, which I find very intriguing, fascinating and likeable. Mostly there is always an ancient story to it, and the four characters bear a really deep meaning. From the ones I learned today, I liked this one: 笨头笨脑 the words mean: stupid head stupid mind and the phrase just sums up stupid, or clumsy, and in a really cool way 🙂 There are much more but I only know a few. There are actually “idiom battles” in China, where they just “hit” the opponent with idioms and then the opponent has to counter with another. If you are a foreigner you are met with great respect for handling idioms that well 😉 So I will go on fighting my lonely fight 🙂 If you can identify all the idioms on the left, you are an expert 🙂

Image: http://gulugule.org/bbs/viewthread.php?tid=232&extra=page%3D1

Leave a Reply

