RSS Feed

Hooked on Mahjongg…

oh...you precious game you! image via digitalbattle.com

Last week a friend of mine dragged me along to play mahjongg (or mah-jongg or majong, whichever way to write it I don’t know) with a group of people. Although I spent two years in China, I have to admit I never learned how to play it there. The young guys I spent my time with were into computer games like World of Warcraft or Counter Strike and made a bonding experience out of that in smoky internet café’s, where hundreds of Chinese played with each other, or so it appeared. I for one let my boyfriend play with the Chinese boys and watched my Korean Dramas…which was great. One could spend hours and hours doing only that one thing… Which we admittedly did….there are even stories of young boys going blind because they didn’t leave their screen for two days straight. Yes…that’s how self-sacrificing they are 😉 Anyway…the thing is only “older” people played mahjongg there, and they gambled. This again is very dangerous, so parents spend a lot of time instilling the warning into young people not ever to gamble. This is why they end up in Internet café’s. This could also be expensive, but at least nobody comes into family homes at night to repossess anything.

I for one am now hooked on this game. I had a really good run and won 5 times over the course of the evening, which a guy brushed off as “beginner’s luck”. I think he was only afraid of me! At home I wasted no time to install mahjongg on my computer and since then I cannot get away from it. Writing one page I take a break with one tiny little round of mahjongg…which then amounts to one hour breaks because time flies by. I am hopelessly addicted now. Even before starting to write anything I am thinking about taking it slow with a nice round of mahjongg first. It is extremely rewarding…I love it! I am even thinking of buying the board game for myself. Maybe that’s why some Chinese parents don’t even teach their kids how to play it…it takes up so much precious time which could be spent studying. But they didn’t think of counter strike 😉

Anyhow, I try to even out the time I write and the time I play…and I think it will go away soon enough, until my next addiction kicks in…hopefully a not so-much-time-consuming one…

Leave a Reply

