RSS Feed

Sounds like an ad, but really ;) This thing saves me time, teary eyes and annoyances in the kitchen

Unlike most people here on WordPress, I don’t like to cook. I always feel somehow inadequate when looking at all those yummy dishes prepared almost every day by some people around here. I also have to cook every day, but I don’t do it with as much passion as them, I only do it out of necessity and because I am hungry. I sure enough like to eat, but the process of cooking feels just tiresome, time-consuming and long to me. If I had the money to go out eating every day I’d do it. And I don’t say this just like that. When I was in China with my boyfriend, we only used our kitchen there for breakfast. And then just the few times to whip up some Austrian food for people who wanted to try it, and that was not often. It was heaven! In China you can eat everywhere whenever you want. And because for us it was so cheap there, we could live like a king! Well, but now back to our present lifestyle…

Recently, the mom of my boyfriend presented us with this little baby:

via tupperware.co.at

Perhaps you know this thing, for me it was a revelation. It is a turbo chopper. With an “easy-pull cord mechanism”. What amuses me is that it is called “Speedy boy” in Austria and in the US “Chop ‘N Prep Chef”. I really would like to know why they renamed it when in the end it has an English name again. Sure enough, everybody can translate “Speedy boy” into German. It’s possibly just cooler to have an English name…but why a different name? It really confuses me. Maybe it’s just a marketing thingy.

But back to cooking. The basis of almost every dish here is onion, for which I like this tool the most. With this thing it’s easy as pie ๐Ÿ˜‰ But apart from onion, you can basically chop everything you like, and this is what I am doing now for almost every meal. You can whip up vegetable pancakes just like that. It’s such a time-saving tool! Somehow, cooking became a little less tiresome and a little more fun.

that's how most of my meals look like now ๐Ÿ™‚ via cookuk.co.uk

If only we had a dishwasher now, then my life would be perfect!

6 responses »

  1. Oh, man. I’m a fan of anything that makes cutting onions more pleasant! Most the stuff I’m “cooking” so far involves fewer fresh ingredients than canned ones, but onions are pretty consistently an ingredient across them. I might have to buy myself one of these. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
    • That was the intention of my post: Spread the word about a real useful kitchen appliance. You should definitely get one for yourself, or even better, let somebody else buy it for you, since it’s not very cheap. Luckily, the bf. mom had some tupperware points or something, that’s why she could spare one of those for us ๐Ÿ˜‰ Cutting onions is just the worst…
      Thanks for reading!

      Reply
  2. I’m with you on the hating to cook thing. Anything that makes it an less tedious is a win for me. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  3. I have an Oxo hand chopper for onions. It works pretty well and when it gets dull, I buy another one for around $15. Not very eco of me, but I hate chopping onions.

    Reply
    • I had such a hand chopper too, but mine got dull really quickly. The “Speedy boy” looks pretty solid, it seems that I can use it for a very long time. Hopefully ๐Ÿ˜‰ And if the sharpness of the knives decreases, I think you can buy them separately. I really sound like an ad lady, but we “I hate to chop onion” people should help each other out ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

