RSS Feed

Waiting for Christmas

Today, I could open the first window on my little Advent calender! To me, opening a window each day has become more exciting than Christmas itself, especially since I get kitchen appliances as Christmas presents ๐Ÿ˜‰

via 55plus-magazin.net

My sister already baked her Christmas cookies, stressing out all the other women in town that haven’t started yet, and I already gained a kilo from eating them on the weekend. My “Achilles heel” are Vanillekipferl, as I understand it, called sand tarts in the U.S. Is that true? Anyway, I could stuff myself with those all day. They are just too good!

Hope you enjoy the waiting with lots of delicious cookies too!

9 responses »

  1. lol, what’s wrong with kitchen appliances?:) But I do understand what you mean by opening an Advent door each day. Since I moved here I stared this tradition with my nieces and nephews and they love it! At the moment I am so late shipping of their calendars and some extra candies. Hoping to do all that by next week.

    Those cookies looks good! Unfortunately I do not know the name in English. In America the variation of snacks/cookies are not that big as in Europe.

    Reply
    • Let’s say I’m not too fond of cooking, and getting kitchen appliances as presents is just boring (if you not wish for them)… but it’s ok, I have the calender ๐Ÿ™‚
      Is there no Advent calender in the U.S.? It’s very sweet of you to send one to your nephews and nieces!
      If you haven’t tried those cookies, you should. Trust me, they are the best ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Reply
      • Hi MMP, yes they have advent calendar in certain part of the US where ever they have an Aldi:) At a matter effect when talking to my mom a few weeks ago she was very happy to tell me they have them at her Aldi for $1. but she did not buy she said she know I will ship my box. For the cookies I have seen them a few bakery here but never tried it. Perhaps next time I see them I will ask to try one at first.

  2. The thing with Aldi is interesting ๐Ÿ™‚
    If you try them, make sure there’s really Vanilla in it. Some pass them off without it, or call them “Nusskipferl”… All in all, most of the cookies are delicious…
    We will be so fed up with them in January ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  3. The cookies look divine! I would eat them too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

